Paul Major and Clint Simonson discuss Feel the Music

Join us Sunday, August 27th at 4:00pm to see Paul Major and Clint Simonson discuss Feel the Music: the Psychedelic Worlds of Paul Major.

Paul will discuss this new book from Anthology Editions in conversation with Clint Simonson (De Stijl Records) on Sunday, August 27th at 4:00pm. Paul Major has lived resolutely at the edge of outsider music culture for nearly a half-century. As an early private press and “real people” record collector turned eminent, underground rock ‘n’ roller, his influence is felt if not heard all around us—until now. Feel the Music traces Paul’s trajectory from his formative days in the Midwest, his years in the late ’70s New York punk scene, and into his curious career as a connoisseur and campaigner of the weirdest records of all time.

Brought to life with unseen photographs, rare record covers, and cut n’ paste ephemera from Paul’s long running mail order catalog, while animated by Paul’s storytelling, Feel the Music is a fanatical mystery tour through the further, outer reaches of music history. Alongside Paul’s writing, Feel the Music features essays by Johan Kugelberg, Jack Streitman, Michael P. Daley, Rich Haupt, Stefan Kery, Patrick Lundborg, Geoffrey Weiss, Jesper Eklow, and Glenn Terry. Each book also comes with a special Sorcerers and Endless Boogie split 7″ vinyl record.

Paul Major was born in Louisville, Kentucky in 1954, placing him squarely in the generational path of rock ‘n roll’s mighty wave: fuzz guitar first blew his mind at age 12, and he hasn’t looked back since. After stints playing in bands in St. Louis and Los Angeles, he moved to New York in 1978 and spent the next few years embroiled in the city’s explosive punk scene (most notably as part of the proto-speed metal band the Sorcerers). All the while, he found himself cultivating an extensive knowledge of rare and bizarre LPs. As his expertise in obscure collecting grew, Paul began a mail-order LP business, and his catalogs soon became must-reads for their mixture of hard-won crate-digging knowledge and witty, one-of-a-kind music writing—holy texts for psychedelic lifers the world over. Starting in 1997, Paul put his decades of experience to work as the singer and guitarist of the band Endless Boogie, whose skewed, no-frills take on rock has renewed his status as a preeminent voice on the farthest, weirdest margins of popular music.

Reading from How Dare We! Write

Join us Saturday, August 19th at 2:00pm for a reading from the book How Dare We! Write.

How Dare We! Write: a Multicultural Creative Writing Discourse offers a much needed corrective to the usual dry and uninspired creative writing pedagogy. The collection asks us to consider questions such as: "What does it mean to work through resistance from supposed mentors, to face rejection from publishers and classmates, and to stand against traditions that silence you?" and "How can writers and teachers even begin to make diversity matter in meaningful ways on the page, in the classroom, and on our bookshelves?" Readers will include: Luis Lopez, Lori Young-Williams, Saghira Shahid, and Marlina Gonzalez.

"How Dare We! Write is an inspiring collection of intellectually rigorous lyric essays and innovative writing exercises; it opens up a path for inquiry, reflection, understanding, and creativity that is ultimately healing. The testimonies provide a hard won context for their innovative paired writing experiments that are, by their very nature, generative." -- Cherise A. Pollard, PhD, Professor of English, West Chester University of Pennsylvania

How Dare We! Write: A Multicultural Creative Writing Discourse Cover Image
By Sherry Quan Lee (Editor)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781615993307
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Modern History Press - May 7th, 2017

The Devourers - Wild Reads Book Club

Join us Sunday, August 20th at 2pm for a discussion of The Devourers by Indra Das.

All are welcome! Please RSVP at our store, Facebook, by phone (612-454-0455) or by email (info@moonpalacebooks.com), and we'll set up a chair for you.

Buy your copy at Moon Palace Books and get 20% off. 

The Devourers Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101967539
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - February 21st, 2017

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.


The Borrowed - Hard Boiled Book Club

For the next installment of the Hard-Boiled Book Club we'll read The Borrowed by Chan Ho-Kei.

Join us at Moon Palace Books on Wednesday, August 23rd at 7pm to discuss!

The Borrowed Cover Image
By Chan Ho-Kei, Jeremy Tiang (Translator)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802125880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press, Black Cat - January 3rd, 2017

From award-winning Hong Kong writer Chan Ho-Kei, The Borrowed tells the story of Kwan Chun-dok, a Hong Kong detective whose career spans fifty years of the territory's history. A deductive powerhouse, Kwan becomes a legend in the force, nicknamed the Eye of Heaven by his awe-struck colleagues.


Reading with dc edwards

Join us on Saturday, August 26th at 4:00pm for a reading with dc edwards!

Join local author Stephanie Chrismon (writing as dc edwards), as she reads from her first novel, Bright City. A writer, pop culture junkie and Afrofuturist, she has a Master of Fine Arts degree in creative writing from Hamline University. She is a participant in the 2016-2017 Loft Mentor Series in Poetry and Creative Prose and was a fellow in the 2015 Emerging Writers' Mentor Program sponsored by the Givens Foundation for African American Literature.

Bright City, the first in a duology, is a coming of age story about Abigail Drexler, who is expelled from her utopian community for treason. Abigail journeys through the post-apocalyptic landscape of a world ravaged by plagues and devastating climate change, and becomes determined to find her way back home and avenge her friend. Eventually she ends up in the Bright City, a beautiful, information-driven society that thrives on intrigue and manipulation. Thrust into this treacherous new world, Abigail is wrapped in a conspiracy that pushes her to the edge of sanity and deeper into the corruption of the Bright City. In this new world of information as power and information as currency, will Abigail find the clues to her exile and the keys to her freedom?

Subscribe to Moon Palace Books RSS