Reading with dc edwards

Join us Saturday, September 23rd at 4:00pm for a reading from the new novel Bright City.

Join local author Stephanie Chrismon (writing as dc edwards), as she reads from her first novel, Bright City. A writer, pop culture junkie and Afrofuturist, she has a Master of Fine Arts degree in creative writing from Hamline University. She is a participant in the 2016-2017 Loft Mentor Series in Poetry and Creative Prose and was a fellow in the 2015 Emerging Writers' Mentor Program sponsored by the Givens Foundation for African American Literature.

Bright City, the first in a duology, is a coming of age story about Abigail Drexler, who is expelled from her utopian community for treason. Abigail journeys through the post-apocalyptic landscape of a world ravaged by plagues and devastating climate change, and becomes determined to find her way back home and avenge her friend. Eventually she ends up in the Bright City, a beautiful, information-driven society that thrives on intrigue and manipulation. Thrust into this treacherous new world, Abigail is wrapped in a conspiracy that pushes her to the edge of sanity and deeper into the corruption of the Bright City. In this new world of information as power and information as currency, will Abigail find the clues to her exile and the keys to her freedom?

Ariel Gore reads from We Were Witches

Join us Monday, September 25th at 7:00pm to see Ariel Gore read from her new novel We Were Witches.

Buying into the dream that education is the road out of poverty, a teen mom takes a chance on bettering herself, gets on welfare rolls, and talks her way into college. But once she's there, phallocratic narratives permeate every subject, and creative writing professors depend heavily on Freytag's pyramid to analyze life. So Ariel turns to a rich subcultural canon of resistance and failure, populated by writers like Audre Lorde, Adrienne Rich, Gloria Anzaldua, Tillie Olsen, and Kathy Acker.

Wryly riffing on feminist literary tropes, We Were Witches documents the survival of a demonized single mother. She's beset by custody disputes, homophobia, and America's ever-present obsession with shaming strange women into passive citizenship. But even as the narrator struggles to graduate--often the triumphant climax of a dramatic plot--a question uncomfortably lingers. If you're dealing with precarious parenthood, queer identity, and debt, what is the true narrative shape of your experience?

Ariel Gore is a journalist, author, and teacher. She is the founding editor/publisher of Hip Mama, an Alternative Press Award winning publication covering the culture and politics of motherhood. Her memoir Atlas of the Human Heart was a 2004 finalist for the Oregon Book Award. Her anthology Portland Queer: Tales of the Rose City won a Lambda Literary Award in 2010.

We Were Witches Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781558614338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amethyst Editions - September 5th, 2017

Buying into the dream that education is the road out of poverty, a teen mom takes a chance on bettering herself, gets on welfare rolls, and talks her way into college. But once she's there, phallocratic narratives permeate every subject, and creative writing professors depend heavily on Freytag's pyramid to analyze life.


Resmaa Menakem reading from My Grandmother's Hands

Join us Friday, September 29th at 7:00pm to see Resmaa Menakem read from his new book My Grandmother's Hands.

My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies is the first self-help book to examine white supremacy in America from the perspective of trauma and body-centered psychology. Stop trying to address white supremacy through dialog. Don’t expect to change the world by teaching tolerance. Forget about changing attitudes. They all miss the mark. Racism is not only about the head. It’s also about the body. The body is where we live. It’s where we fear, hope, and react; where we constrict and relax; and where we fight, flee, or freeze.

In Between the World and Me, Ta-Nehisi Coates exposed the ongoing destruction of the Black body in America. That destruction will continue until Americans learn to feel the inherited trauma of white supremacy, which is deeply embedded in all our bodies. This trauma doesn’t just affect African American bodies. White American bodies suffer their own historical trauma as well. So do the bodies of our police. We all need to recognize this trauma, metabolize it, work through it, and grow up out of it. Only in this way will we at last heal our bodies, our families, and the social body of our nation. The process differs for African-American, European American, and police bodies. But all of us need to heal our racialized trauma—and, with the right guidance, all of us can. My Grandmother’s Hands shows us how to begin.

Spoken word artist The Lioness will join Resmaa to perform at this event. 

My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781942094470
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Central Recovery Press - September 19th, 2017

The body is where our instincts reside and where we fight, flee, or freeze, and it endures the trauma inflicted by the ills that plague society. In this groundbreaking work, therapist Resmaa Menakem examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of body-centered psychology.


Emily Blejwas reads from Once You Know This

Join us Thursday, September 28th at 7:00 pm to see Emily Blejwas read from her book Once You Know This.

A girl wishes for a better life for herself, her mom, and her baby brother and musters the courage to make it happen in this moving and emotionally satisfying story for readers of Kate DiCamillo and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Emily will be joined by the Youth Advisory Board from the Minnesota Coalition for Battered Women. MCBW’s Youth Advisory Board is made up of youth from across the state who work to raise awareness around and prevent adolescent relationship abuse. They are currently leading a project called the “Real Love Is” campaign that invites youth to define what real love looks and feels like to them through words and artistic expression. The YAB will bring an art instillation to schools and community events to seek input from youth and ultimately create an art instillation representing real love and relationship stories from youth in Minnesota.

Once You Know This reminds me of a flower blooming in the crack of a sidewalk. It’s important, and it’s special. Just read it.”—Ali Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Thing About Jellyfish

Once You Know This Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524700973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 19th, 2017

A girl wishes for a better life for herself, her mom, and her baby brother and musters the courage to make it happen in this moving and emotionally satisfying story for readers of Kate DiCamillo and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.


The Unquiet Dead - Crime Book Club

For the September installment of the Crime Book Club we'll read The Unquiet Dead by Ausma Zehanat Khan.

Join us at Moon Palace Books on Wednesday, September 20th at 7pm to discuss!

The Unquiet Dead Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250055187
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - December 29th, 2015

Despite their many differences, Detective Rachel Getty trusts her boss, Esa Khattak, implicitly. But she's still uneasy at Khattak's tight-lipped secrecy when he asks her to look into Christopher Drayton's death.


Subscribe to Moon Palace Books RSS